Gates County

Home of Merchants Millpond State Park

College of the Albemarle Board of Trustees


The Board of Trustees shall constitute the local administrative board of the college, with such authority and responsibility as granted by the General Statutes of NC and as delegated to it by the State Board of Community Colleges. Board meets monthly.

Members: 22

Term Length:


The mission of College of The Albemarle is to transform lives in an accessible, supportive environment that promotes academic excellence, student success, workforce development, community partnerships, and responsible stewardship.

Current Representatives:

OA Board of Trustees
J. Fletcher Willey, Chair
Marion Harris, Jr., Vice Chair

Governor's Appointees
Rev. Charles L. Foster
Sonja W. Hibbard
Robin A. Mann
S. Paul O'Neal

Pasquotank County Commissioner's Appointees
Douglas S. Gardner
Donald L. McCabe
Joseph S. Winslow, Jr.
G. Matt Wood

Elizabeth City-Pasquotank County Board of Education's Appointees
Dr. Travis Burke
Marion Harris, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Peel 
George E. Thomas, Jr.

Dare County Commissioner's Appointees
Warren C. Judge III
J. Fletcher Willey

Chowan County Commissioner's Appointees
Dr. Ellis E. Lawrence

Camden County Commissioner's Appointees
Dr. W. Roger Lambertson

Currituck County Commissioner's Appointees
Paul R. Martin

Gates County Commissioner's Appointees
Graham L. Twine

Perquimans County Commissioner's Appointees
Charles H. Ward 

Student Representative
The College's Student Government Association President serves as an ex officio member of the Board of Trustees.

Meetings- 2nd Tuesday of each month

For more information: